Travelling in Dhanbad

Mine is a small city, marching forward one of the fastest growing cities in India. As an undergraduate student of SSLNT Women’s college, Dhanbad, I had to use the autorickshaws for an hour long commute which I seldom looked forward to. I have developed auto-phobia ever since.
This chauvinistic male dominated society looks at women largely as objects of sexual fulfillment and it gets manifested in the form of the unwanted touch, grope, shove, lewd commentary, eve teasing and what not!
How long am I going to tell myself that I must be an exceptional case who goes through all sorts of such incidents? As far as I know, using the public transport vehicles can not be a pleasing experience, not in Dhanbad at least.
What do I begin with?
This issue shall take up a couple of posts to cover the whole matter.

I’ve observed that most of the autorickshaw drivers ferrying people via the Sindri-Dhanbad route are young men in the age group 20-35 approximately. They are supposed to wear navy blue uniforms but not all comply. On the road they are the most reckless drivers throwing passengers into fits and starts.
Loudspeakers blare forth with all sorts of tracks and it effects mental stability so much as to drive anyone mad!
I, for myself, cannot tolerate such noise which is often enough to give me a headache for the rest of the day. Oh these men have no compassion for the elderly who seem more perturbed than me. I often speak up and complain. Some of the songs in the local dialect that are played cross all limits of indecency with the abundant use of all clear puns.
It feels insulting and embarassing, specially to women. Added to the already nonsensical notes are the comments thrown in by perverts.
I don’t understand this- What is the very need to provide for a music system in autos? It doesn’t serve any purpose at all. They need to be done away with.

PS All the apples aren’t rotten. But the rotten ones fall often to my lot.

Leave a Reply

