Blackout

The lights go off,
neurotransmitters failure.
Someone around me shrieks ‘Watchout!’
Too late.
Headfirst I go,
diving in,
a split second when nothing matters,
Gravity defying,
until someone gathers,
me up.
The blackouts,
are my fits of euphoria,
exhilarating,
liberating,
the sinking Concordia.
Darkness often blinds,
fears sublime.
I fly and fall,
body and all.
Fall and awaken,
visibly shaken.
From a deep dream of peace,
I awoke to find no Angel.
Only curious minds,
all caring and kind.
Woe is me!
For no peace I find.

Leave a Reply

