Distance

I know we are miles apart: you and I. Yet I’ve been thinking about us. Distance does nothing to lessen what I feel for you and that is what I am concerned about.

What if, when twenty or thirty years later, we do not even know where the other one is and I am still stuck in time, thinking about you?

This is a trying time when we exist after having said our goodbyes because we have so little a chance of meeting again, though that is as good a chance as me wearing my favorite shirt tomorrow. And yet, if years later, when we’ve forgotten all about what brewed between us and you have forgotten I exist, 

If years later, I am still trying to extricate your name out of my memories, wouldn’t that be sad?

Because it will remind me how lonely I have been all these years.

Leave a Reply

